What to do after a DWI arrest in Louisiana

Remember That Drunk Driving Is A Criminal Offense
Some folks feel that a drunk driving arrest isn’t any different in relation to a traffic citation. That’s not really true. Most traffic crimes are civil infractions, which take no substantial penalty aside from a nice and a potential driver’s license suspension. A conviction for a drunk driving offense will produce a criminal record, and could possibly lead to significant fines and a prison sentence or term of probation. A DWI conviction remains on your driving record to get at least 10 years — that is going to lead to higher premiums.

Remember That You Have Constitutional Rights

Among the basic rights of someone being challenged by the authorities is that the right to stay silent. If the authorities believe you might be a drunk or impaired driver, then they’ll ask you if you’ve been drinking. A lot of people decide to answer this question, some with beginning honesty. If in reality you’re drinking, it’s advisable not to acknowledge it. To begin with, depending upon just how much alcohol you claim to have swallowed, your entrance alone could constitute “probable cause” to detain you and offer you a Breathalyzer test. Never agree to a search of your car or truck, even in the event that you think that you’re in possession of nothing.

Remember That You Face Separate Driver’s License Sanctions
Together with a criminal charge for a drunk driving offense come department of automobile penalties. Your driver’s license will be taken from you in the time of your arrest, and you’ll be issued a newspaper permit. You’ll have 15 days from the date of your arrest to challenge the suspension of your driver’s license, should you not do this you might be subject to driver’s permit sanctions even when you’re ultimately acquitted of the intoxicated driving offense. We have discussed Louisiana DWI laws in detail on our website, you can check it.

Consult An Attorney
The best way to learn your rights, and also to be certain that they’re protected, would be to check a lawyer who practices drunk driving law. A lawyer whose practice concentrates on DWI Defense will most likely know how to battle some breath, blood pressure, or compound tests, the way to dispute the validity of the first traffic stop, and also how to best protect your permit. They’re also very likely to understand what the judge who’s handling your situation is very likely to perform if you plead guilty, or whether you’re convicted following a trial. It’s more important to speak with an attorney when you’ve got a prior impaired driving conviction, as Louisiana imposes a great deal more significant penalties on repeat offenders compared to very first time drunk drivers.